Mount Monadnock and the Boulder Boot

Posted by Brad Maniscalco on 6/22/2015 to Boulder Boot
boulder boot on mount monadnock

As we have said time and again, it is great to make a sale, but first and foremost, we want to help people find a comfortable pair of shoes. We receive many E-mails filled with feedback (both good and bad). 
We make it a point to read EVERY SINGLE ONE. The good ones, we like to share and the bad ones, we like to address. 
After the release of the original, customer feedback and suggestions are what led to the Primal 2. 

The Lumberjac Reviews the Primal 2

Posted by Brad Maniscalco on 6/12/2015 to Primal 2

Egoscue and Lems Shoes

Posted by Brad Maniscalco on 1/29/2014 to Primal 2

“Live Easy and Minimal” .  It’s on our shirts, it’s on our stickers and by simply visiting our blog, you have probably seen this quotation multiple times as you navigated our website.  Maybe some of you understand our reasoning behind this motto, or maybe some of you have glanced at it without even thinking twice. 

So sit back and let me enlighten you.  The reasoning behind Live Easy and Minimal is pretty self explanatory, but why would a shoe company base their entire process around it?

In today’s world, people have become obsessed with the latest inventions and technological advances (Hey, let’s camp out for 3 days outside of Best Buy waiting for a new IPhone!?!?!)  

Television, word of mouth, and the Internet fills our brains with advertisements and news about “innovations” and often times we buy into them because “experts say it works” or because our friends and family members swear by it.  Other times the extent of research we do on these products we buy is simply reading one or two positive reviews on Yelp or Amazon.  Take Moonshoes for example, who the hell ever thought those were a good idea?

Our feet are like the Chuck Norris’s of our bodies.  They can handle shit.  They don’t need any special “orthotics” or “gel cushions” to help them get through the day, and if we never evolved into the sensitive yuppies we have become, we wouldn’t think twice about sprinting through a gravel pit.  With that being said, Lems strives to bring us back to the bad asses our ancestors used to be by using a shoe that only has the bare essentials.

The Egoscue  Method takes the same approach to chronic pain.  Toss those meds and pain relievers down the drain, because just like Egoscue says, your design isn’t flawed, your posture is.  The Egoscue Method is comprised of a series of personalized stretches and gentle exercises that are designed to help realign one's posture and help restore physical ability.

Chris Kussof, the Director at Egoscue Orange County has not only transformed his body but has helped numerous clients alleviate mental, physical, and emotional pains.  Not only does Chris and his staff kick pain’s butt, but he and his staff do it wearing none other than Lems Shoes.  Check out the newsletter below to learn more about Egoscue and how Lems’ has helped Chris’ staff and patients. 

We Love Lems Shoes
Lems Shoes are designed with both proper fit and function in mind, serving as very beneficial minimalist shoes. Allowing the foot to keep its natural shape while providing enough room for the toes to wiggle is what makes Lems our shoes of choice at The Orange County Egoscue Clinic. The flexible design allows for full-range of movement without the addition of added material or gimmicks. Our team was given the opportunity to try Lems Shoes, and we couldn't be happier with our experiences. 

"I have been a fan of Lems Shoes for years. Also being a huge fan of Vibram FiveFingers, I wanted to find a pair of shoes that would give me the same free feel. I still have my first pair of Lems from four years ago! The build quality is great, and they seem to get even more comfortable with age. I do all my activities in the shoes -- yoga, running, and hiking. I want to thank Lems for making such an awesome shoe!"

                                                                                                - Chris Kussoff
"My Lems (Primal 2) are super comfortable for walking, running, and working out. I like to wear them loose, and I feel like I have free range of motion in my feet and ankles. I love that I still feel the minimal support needed and have more connection to the ground."

-Marian Caramanzana

"As a free-spirited dancer who prefers being barefoot, I am proud to say that I have found comfort and stability in Lems Shoes. I ordered the "Womens' Primal 2 Black" style (which is vegan-friendly), and was immediately drawn to the intricate, yet simple and flexible design. The fit is unlike any shoe I've ever worn, providing enough room for my toes to spread and flex inside the front portion of the shoe. I've found that these shoes are perfect for walking, jogging, hiking, and even dancing, all the while allowing my feet to feel rooted to the earth. My feet never feel restricted inside Lems Shoes, but the quality material provides enough support to make me feel comfortable walking on rocky terrain. Whether I am taking a long walk with my dog, making a quick trip to the market, or instructing a fitness class at work, Lems Shoes are my first choice for both comfort and function.

-Desiree Patterson

If you would like to learn more about Egoscue Methods, find a clinic in your area, or even get a free posture evaluation please visit, 

Lems Boulder Boot Review: Glacier National Park

Posted by Steve Perna on 10/15/2013 to Boulder Boot
Glacier National Park, Whitefish, MT - 7:00 AM: The sunrise illuminates my tent as if it were an oversized Edison bulb and I begrudgingly wake from my much needed slumber. My mornings consistently start with wiping the drool from my cracked and burned lips; then, packing my gear in such a sloppy fashion that it will irritate me when it comes time to find what I am looking for later down the trail; and finally, I dress myself accordingly and slip my feet back into the Boulder Boots. At this exact moment my roaming spirit is rekindled; my anxiousness for adventure aflame. And my anticipation to see where the Lems Boulder Boots will carry me next in the day's exploration is already making this early morning that much sweeter.

Barefoot in Arizona Blog Review

Posted by Andrew Rademacher on 10/8/2012 to Shoe Reviews

Another Review from Birthday Shoes

Posted by Administrator on 1/12/2012 to Shoe Reviews
If you don't know Justin Owings, he's the owner of  He's the one that gets all the future VFF styles before everyone else.  Read what he thinks of Stem Footwear:  


Posted by Andrew Rademacher on 1/4/2012 to Shoe Reviews

I've been in touch with Justin Owings, founder of since January 2011.  His site arguably has the largest minimalist shoe follower base of the entire inter-webs.  Back in May he did a review and youtube video of our prototypes.  It was responsible for gathering much of our initial steam.  About two months ago I sent Tim, one of his colleagues, one of our final production shoes.  After several weeks of testing he released his impressions.  Read it here 

Levi's Review of STEM Primal Origins

Posted by Andrew Rademacher on 6/3/2011 to Shoe Reviews
Levi, the author of a Second Wind Reviews the Primal Origin.

Today we have the darkhorse of this review series:  a shoe called â€Å“Primal Originsâ€Â from a brand new company (these shoes donâ€â„¢t even exist yet but are available for pre-order now) STEM Footwear.

Birthday Shoes Reviews Stem Footwear

Posted by Andrew Rademacher on 5/17/2011 to Shoe Reviews
Stem Shoes give a barefoot feel that allows for great ground feel. 
Check it out below. 

Have you heard about Stem Footwear?  They are a new minimalist footwear company birthed out of a need for more foot friendly shoes — a.k.a. shoes that have a good sized toe-box, are neutral from heel to toe, and aren't so heavily cushioned that all feeling of the ground is lost.  These are, at minimal, some of the main, most important criteria. Shoes that let your feet be feet.    - Justin Owings

Sneak Peek by Tina on Living Barefoot Radio

Posted by on 2/16/2011 to Shoe Reviews
Tina Dubois, a writer for the Living Barefoot Radio Show got the opportunity to try out STEM's and gave her opinion on their site  Here are some of her words.  

Review by

Posted by on 2/12/2011 to Shoe Reviews
The following is a review written by Nicholas, author of

I first ran across STEM Footwear last year after I read the “The World is Flat… if You Are a Foot” by Dr. Mark Cucuzzella of Two Rivers Treads and Andrew Rademacher of STEM. I had been in touch with Andrew since then and they finally delivered their first Origins samples at the Winter Outdoor Retailer Show last month. And I’m very fortunate to receive a STEM Primal Origins in my shoe size to wear test last week.
The first impression I have is: the shoe is so light, soft, and super-flexible! I have never worn a pair of shoes like this ever. It feels like a hybrid of a glove, slipper (as in ballet), and martial arts shoe, with the best of each rolled into one. And it became an instant recovery and wellness shoe for me.
The shoe is completely collapsible so I had to test it out. I rolled the shoe up from toe to heel in addition to twisting it left and right along the heel-to-toe axis – amazing flexibility. And it unrolled back to it normal shape flawlessly – no visible wrinkles or permanent folds remained.
The shoe weighed in at 6.2 ounces on my digital scales. But it sure feels lighter than that.
The outsole is a thin 6mm and allows even better ground feel than my VFF KSO! The air injection rubber used replicates skin elasticity (replicates the physical properties of human skin) and this technology is new and unique – I’m sure Andrew is patenting it
The uppers is made of a breathable air mesh and the shoe is designed to be worn without socks. No worries about sweaty feet. Worried about the toe box? The soft uppers and wide toe box accommodated my 2E wide feet with compression recovery socks – it has room to spare! The natural foot shape fit with a wide toe box makes the shoe complete.
The lacing system is comprised of a quick-release draw chord so you can put on or take off your shoes quickly and easily. This is actually better the easy slip-on like those on the New Balance Minimus Wellness or Zoot Ultra Speed because with the chord, you can get a better midfoot wrap and support. Tighten or loosen the laces depending on the activity you are performing.
There are no inserts and the stitching is seamless for barefoot wear. After walking for over 10 miles in the first two in these shoes, they do feel like an extension of your feet! I’ve since put in a lot more miles

There is no noticeable toe spring visible and if there is, the shoe is so soft and flexible that your toes have nothing to fight against. Your toes will splay and flex without restrictions.

Some closeups on the attention to details in the heel and uppers.
Here’s a video giving you a better view of the shoe than flat photographs. I took it while un-boxing the shoes.
STEM shoes also proudly incorporate the 3 R’s (Reduce, Recycle, Reuse) when it comes to being green and eco-conscious.  And they started decreasing their eco-footprint with reducing – less wasted material, less excess scrap, and elimination of unnecessary material altogether. They don’t use any leather (go vegan!) but only natural grown fibers.

Who are these shoes for?

It’s for everyone who wants to get back to their roots and feel the ground again. We have weakened our feet over time with traditional shoes and thus losing touch with one of our vital senses – proprioception, the outsole-to-insole-to brain sensory feedback system. STEM believes that by strengthening the muscles in your feet, you are inadvertently strengthening your entire body.

Fan Mail: Chris Mello

Posted by on 2/10/2011 to Shoe Reviews
Hi Andrew,

"My name is Chris Mello and when I found out you were a pole vaulter I just had to write to you. I love what you're doing with Stem Footwear. I was a pole vaulter in high school for two seasons and for a year and a half in college. I haven't vaulted very high. my PR was 14 feet in high school and I never bettered it in college.